Gov Dickson inaugurates committee to identify communities, chieftaincy stools for proper classification

Create: 05/03/2017 - 11:20

The Bayelsa State Government has inaugurated committee that will identify communities in each local government area, where there are pending chieftaincy disputes in court or before any other arbitration body.

This was part of a 7-point terms of reference to the committees, which include engaging in proper consultations and undertaking visits for the purpose of identifying, ascertaining and compiling a credible and acceptable list of communities and their heads in each local government area of the State.

Governor Seriake Dickson was represented by his deputy, Rear Admiral Gboribiogha John Jonah (Rtd), at the inauguration of the committee comprising Verification Teams for communities and their heads across the 8 local government areas in the state.

The state government also mandated the committee to study the compendium of documents relating to the various communities and their heads, earlier submitted to the government by the Chief Douye Douglas Naingba led Committee on Chieftaincy Stools.
According to the Governor Dickson, the committee is expected to make  recommendations on appropriate communities that should be given official recognition, as well as to make any other recommendations given the sensitive nature of their assignment.

The Committee, which has 2 weeks to submit its report is to be coordinated by the Chief of Staff, Government House, Rt. Hon. Talford Ongolo.

Responding, Chairman of the Committee and leader of the Ekeremor Local Government Verification Team, Barr. Belemu Nemine expressed his committee’s determination to carry out the task assigned them diligently.

Chairmen of the various verification teams are, Chief Kune Igoni for Brass, Hon. Kofi Odiowei- Kolokuma/Opokuma, Hon. Eminah Bioghoemi- Nembe and Chief Maclean Aduba- Ogbia local government area.

Others are, Chief Bernard Agai- Sagbama local government area, Chief Patrick Osunu- Southern Ijaw and Hon. Michael Ogbolosingha for Yenagoa local government area.